Facts of Bihar

Top 100 Important Facts of Bihar for BPSC, BSSC- You Must Know


For more Bihar related GK and Questions Click


State                                         Bihar
Capital                                      Patna
Formation                               1912 (as Bihar Orissa province)
1st division of Bihar              1936 ( as Orissa)
2nd division of Bihar             2000 ( Jharkhand)

Facts of Bihar (Geography)

Total Area                                          94,163 kilometre square
Length                                               North to South 345 km
Breadth                                              East to west 483 km
Height                                                173 ft above sea level (52.73 m)
State day                                            22nd March
Population (position in India)          3
Literacy (position in India)               36 (including union territories)
Establisher of Patliputra                  Udyan
State official language                     Hindi and Urdu
Spoken languages                           Hindi, Bhojpuri, Maithili, Angika
Most spoken language                    Maithili
Neighbouring state                          Jharkhand, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal
Neighbouring country                     Nepal
Latitude                                             24
°-20′- 10″ ∼  27°-31′- 15″ N
Longitude                                          83°-19′- 50″ ∼  88°-17′- 40″  E
Area wise position in India             13 (After formation of Telangana)

Rivers                                                Ganga, Kosi, Kamla, Gandak, Son, Punpun,                                                                      Ghaghra, Bagmati

Forests & National Park                  ( Valmiki National Park, Rajgir wildlife sanctuary,                                                             Bheem bandh wildlife sanctuary, Gautam Buddha                                                              wildlife sanctuary, Udaypur wildlife sanctuary.)

Highest peak of state                              Someshwar

Annual rainfall (normal)                          1071 mm (2016)

Average rainfall in cm (annual)               999 mm (2001-2016)

Maximum Rainfall                                     Kishanganj

Hottest district                                           Gaya

Largest River Project                                Gandak Project

Max Sulpur producing District                  Rohtas

Per Capita Income in current prices        Rs.31,380 (2014-15)

Bihar GST bill passed on                          18 August 2016

Longest national highway in Bihar           NH-57 (310 km)

Total length of National Highway              4917 km

NH Crossing through Bihar                      NH-2, NH-28, NH-30, NH-31

Facts of Bihar (State Symbols)

State Animal                                Ox
State bird                                     Sparrow ( Sparrow day 20th March)
State tree                                     Peepal
State flower                                  Marigold
State fish                                      Mangur

Political Facts of Bihar

Lok Sabha Seats                                        40
Reserved SC seats (Lok Sabha)              6 (Hajipur, Sasaram, Gaya, Samastipur,                                                                             Gopalganj & Jamui)

Rajya Sabha Seats                                     16

Assembly Constituency
(Vidhan Sabha)                                         243

Reserved Seats (SC)                                 38
Reserved Seats (ST)                                  2 (Katihar & Banka)

Legislative Council
(Vidhan Parishad)                                     75

Reserved Seats for Women
in Panchayat                                               50 %

Administrative Setup 

Division                                          9
Districts                                         38
CD Blocks                                     534
Panchayats                                   8406

Local Bodies

Nagar Nigam                                  11
Nagar Parishad                              42
Nagar Panchayat                            87
Gram Panchayat                            8463

Census Bihar

Population                                          10,40,99,452
Density                                               1106/km sq (Highest in India)
Male Population                                 54,278,157
Female Population                             49,821,295
 Population                                  Patna
Min Population                                   Sheikhpura
Sex Ratio                                           918 Female per 1000 Male
Decadal Growth (Population)             25.42%
Annual Population growth                  2.54%

Literacy Rate                                      61.8 %
Male Literacy                                      71.2 %
Female Literacy                                  51.50 %
In terms of literacy Bihar ranks 28th in India.
Max literacy rate district                     Rohtas
Min literacy rate district                      Purnea

First in Bihar

First chief minister of Bihar                Shri Krishna Singh (1946-61)

First governor of Bihar                       Jai Ram das Daulat Ram

First Jnanpith Puraskar                     Dr. Ramdhari Singh Dinkar for ” Urvashi” 1972

First TV relay centre                          Muzaffarpur

First awarded Ashok Chakra             Late Randhir Verma

First Ancient University                     Nalanda University ( 5th century)

First Modern university                     Patna University

First Open University                        Nalanda Open University

First Hindi daily newspaper               Bihar Bandhu 1874

First English newspaper                   The Herald

First Neolithic age ornaments           Chirand (Chapra)

Historic earthquake                          1934

First oil refinery centre                      Barauni

First irrigation project                        Son Project

First Science Centre                         Sri krishna Science Centre ( Patna)

First Women CM                               Smt Rabri Devi

First Dalit Chief Minister                   Bhola Paswan Shastri (1968-71)

First Muslim Chief Minister               Abdul Gafoor (1973-75)

First Muslim Governor                       Zakir Hussain (1957-62)

First Independent Chief Minister       Mahamaya Prasad Sinha



About the author


Hi its Team IAS PRIME. We are motivated towards making civil services preparation simple and easy. We hope you will find our work useful to your preparation. Any feedback is always welcome.

View all posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *